Dear Father,

This post has been written for Day 10 of the 30 Days 30 letters challenge. Topic for today: A Letter to Someone you don’t talk to as much as you’d like to.

 


 

Dear Papa,

Strange as it may seem, nevertheless, I am writing to you because we seldom talk and perhaps we are better this way. You know how it has been at home usually, it is mother and I who have been blabbering from this to that to everything and thanks to us, our home is never a silence zone. You and I have comfortably been like this, in our silence or rather our infrequent conversations, ever since I don’t know when.

Yes we do speak to one another, and we do share that space that is ours, but perhaps it is just not as often as it should be.

The other day I was just thinking why isn’t it so at my end with you, as it is with mother. Time, yes is an issue. Generally the blame is on both of ours’ work pressures. Besides, we both are introverts and worrywarts! Oh yes! I don’t appear to be one, many a time but you know I am one!

Very often I am so much keen on communicating something and starting a conversation but then I just stop and let it be unsaid. And with you this often happens. It’s not that I don’t want to share, it’s not that I don’t want to hurt you by sharing it. At times it is just better left unsaid for it is easy to deal with. Else, eventually, things like acceptance unnecessarily pour in and dilute the brew completely.

Yes we don’t talk as often as we should! Perhaps I do not have the patience to take you through every detail and you won’t have a clarity without going through it. Similarity see.  Now because of these different melodies, one with patience and one without, our tunes never tend to sync. Not that they weren’t meant to.

The funny part is, we both know we must turn to one another when in need, yet, our bond is such that many things are better left unsaid. I guess we’ve now both begun to deal with this and get used to its presence in our lives. Perhaps that’s what is important.

Yours,

Niyati

Leave a Reply

