Dear Sam,

This post has been written for Day 11 of the 30 Days 30 letters challenge. Topic for today: A Letter to Deceased person you wish you could talk to.

Often there are people who are too special and mean a lot to you. One day, the silently walk away and the void in your life keeps haunting you for long hours, days, perhaps in flashes all through your life.


 

Dear Sam,

I want to tell you a million times that you have always been a beautiful inspiration, friend, mentor and a guiding light. You know, I have told you this many a time and I cannot cease to repeat myself. Each time I read your book, Life in a Jiffy, I can’t cease to smile, whether you talk about that DSLR Camera in your poetry or you simply describe that beautiful dawn, when you woke up to the nature! Your words permeate “Life in a Jiffy” in every sense and aspect!

You still haunt my dreams for there have been those strange mornings of late, when I remembered those days when we used to go swimming together. Also, I’ve woken up to days when we went for a picnic together somewhere or even, how you visited my place to see the my little dogs and described in one of your old blogs about dog love. 🙂 You won’t believe, I went back to orkut.com, and hunted down the little testimonial you wrote for me and copied it in my diary. I still run my fingers through those little notes you’d scribbled in the course material you’d given to me for Entrance Exam preparations, and hope it will take me to you, connect me to you in some way!

Yes, I still hope some day I shall see you in person, hug you, walk my dog with yours, talk endlessly, go for a picnic and go swimming in the river and tell you how much you have meant to me. Not that I have left a single opportunity to let you know that, yet, I’d once again like to do that. I’ll once again quote a poem I wrote for you few months ago, a poem dedicated to a fire that may never die out!

Fiery, strong, upfront and bold;
Yet, Soft & Loving:
A magic we say she always beholds!
Today i realized:
Alas! The cruelty of life…
How unfair can he be,
For stealing from the world, a wonderful soul…!
She indeed was a beautiful mind!
The little firefly that did enough to brighten the world ~
Who inspired and left behind tears and an empty world!
Alas! The cruelty of life…
How mean can he be,
To take someone away~
Who might just have saved the world,
From the bad & ugly!
A little floating lamp in the shadow valley:
She was a fire that could never die!
She is a fire that can never burn out!
Alas! The cruelty of life!
Why her?
She was a free soul~
Embracing life with open arms!
She learnt at each step~
She changed herself out of her learnings!
And yet,
Held onto her goodness and mystic beauty!
She was a magic that just happened to me and a few fortunate ones!
She was an inspiration with which I walked ahead
She was a bliss, I was blessed enough to live with!
Alas! The cruelty of time…
Alas! The cruel human…!
How we take special ones for granted!
And don’t tell them how much they mean!
How we lament upon the chances missed and opportunities lost!
Alas! That cruel circumstance…
When the fire died out!
Leaving behind darkness;
Leaving behind a void that no light can ever fill..!
Alas! The cruel him~
At times so unfair,
And yet,
I resort to him
Seeking an answer to my Why!
Seeking peace for her soul!
Seeking for those fond memories to come alive once again!
Seeking beauty for the world!
In just one prayer:
May the fire never die out!
For it indeed has lit up many lives…
May the fire keep burning~
Somewhere in a beautiful corner of this world!
Where only beauty embraces her with open arms!
May the fire keep burning!

Love,

Niyati 🙂

Leave a Reply

